pexels rodnae productions 7713148CHICAGO – State Senator Patricia Van Pelt (D-Chicago) is congratulating more than 300 Chicago-area high schoolers who were named 2021-22 Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.

“I commend these scholars for making such an achievement, which is even more impressive considering the obstacles brought along with the pandemic,” Van Pelt said. “This is also a testament to their families and educators, who have worked tremendously hard to support students during these unpredictable times.”

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in approximately the top 10% of the state’s high school seniors from 676 high schools in all 102 counties. Selection is based on a combination of standardized test scores and class rank or unweighted GPA at the end of the student’s junior year. ISAC works in conjunction with the students’ high school guidance counselors to determine the winners.

The Scholars from the 5th District include students from the following high schools: Chicago Academy for the Arts, Collins Academy High School, Devry Advantage High School, Holy Trinity High School, Lincoln Park High School, Phoenix Military Academy, Providence St. Mel High School, St. Ignatius College Prep, Walter Payton College Prep School, Westinghouse College Prep, and Whitney Young High School.

Recipients of the award will receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC, and a Certificate of Achievement will be sent to their high school. State Scholars will also receive a digital badge issued by ISAC that can be displayed on online profiles, exhibited on social media, and shared with prospective colleges and employers.

“This immense honor will allow students to have even brighter futures ahead of them,” Van Pelt said. “I hope this achievement eases the stress of the college application and financial aid process.”

More information about the State Scholar program can be found at ISAC’s website.

Category: Press Releases

COVID-19 Resources


Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Please let us know your email address.


Social Networks

facebook logotwitter-button

Office Info

Springfield Office:
Stratton Office Building
Section C, Room P
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-6252

District Office:
1016 W. Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60607
(312) 888-9191
(312) 277-3716 FAX