Welcome

PVP-WelcomeThank you for visiting my website.

I am proud to serve as the State Senator from Illinois’ 5th District. I hope you’ll find this site a useful resource in keeping up-to-date with what’s happening in our district and in Springfield.

Please contact any of my offices with questions or ways I can better serve you. It is my honor to represent you in Springfield.

Sincerely, 

 VanPeltSig

State Senator Patricia Van Pelt

5th Senate District

Illinois Department of Labor Reminds Workers to Watch Their Wages

 


min_wage.png

SPRINGFIELD – Illinois’ minimum wage will make its second increase this year to $10 per hour beginning July 1. The Illinois Department of Labor urges minimum wage earners to make sure their checks reflect the increase following July 1.

Governor JB Pritzker signed legislation passed by the General Assembly providing a path to a $15 minimum wage by 2025. Minimum wage earners received the first increase of $1 to $9.25 per hour on January 1, 2020.

Prior to the January increase, the last time Illinois increased its minimum wage was a decade ago. In 2010, the minimum wage was raised from $8.00 to $8.25 per hour. Cook County has a higher minimum wage than the state, with the Cook County minimum wage increasing to $13 per hour beginning July 1, 2020. The

City of Chicago minimum wage will also increase on July 1, 2020 to $13.50 per hour for small employers (4 to 20 employees) and $14 per hour for large employers (21 or more employees).

The state’s minimum wage is scheduled to increase an additional $1 per hour each year on January 1 until it reaches $15 per hour in 2025.

“While IDOL fully expects employers to abide by the new minimum wage, it is important for workers to inspect their checks to make sure they reflect the increase,” said Michael Kleinik, director of the Illinois Department of Labor.

The new law maintains provisions for employers to count gratuities to offset wages for workers, such as food servers, who regularly earn tips. Tipped employees may be paid a minimum of 60 percent of the hourly minimum wage. These workers must still earn the minimum wage after receiving tips.

Workers who are under 18 years old and work fewer than 650 hours in a year earn a minimum wage of $8 per hour.

You can find more on the minimum wage including frequently asked questions here:
www2.illinois.gov/idol/Laws-Rules/FLS/Pages/minimum-wage-law.aspx.

COVID-19 Resources

Save Our Seniors

eNewsletter

Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Please let us know your email address.

pvp lawenfrcmt petition

work4il

Social Networks

facebook logotwitter-button

Office Info

District Office
1016 W. Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60607 
(312) 888-9191
(312) 277-3716 FAX

Springfield Office
121A Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
217-782-6252